Organizers of the workshop

Dimo Brockhoff received his diploma in computer science (Dipl.-Inform.) from University of Dortmund, Germany in 2005 and his PhD (Dr. sc. ETH) from ETH Zurich, Switzerland in 2009. Between June 2009 and November 2010 he was a postdoctoral researcher at INRIA Saclay Ile-de-France in Orsay, France. Since November 2010 he has been a postdoctoral researcher at LIX, Ecole Polytechnique within the CNRS-Microsoft chair « Optimization for Sustainable Development (OSD) ». His research interests are focused on evolutionary multiobjective optimization (EMO), in particular on many-objective optimization as well as theoretical aspects of indicator-based search.

Kalyanmoy Deb received the Bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India. He received the Masters and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, in 1989 and 1991, respectively. He was with the Engineers India Limited, New Delhi and recently visited Helsinki School of Economics as a Finland Distinguished Professor. He is currently the Deva Raj Chair Professor at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. His main research interests are in the areas of computational optimization, modeling and design, and evolutionary algorithms. He has written two text books on optimization and has published or presented more than 240 papers in international journals and conferences. He has pioneered and is a leader in the field of evolutionary multiobjective optimization. He is Associate Editor and on the editorial board of a number of major international journals. Dr. Deb is a Fellow of the Indian National Academy of Engineering, the Indian National Academy of Sciences, and the International Society of Genetic and Evolutionary Computation. He is the recipient of the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences in India for the year 2005. He has also received the Thomson Citation Laureate Award from Thompson Scientific for having the highest number of citations in computer science during 1996-2005 in India. He was a recipient of the Fredrick Wilhelm Bessel Research award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, Germany, in 2003.